csteeves

Member Spotlight

Chris SteevesChris Steeves
Senior Consultant
Global Philanthropic Inc. (Canada)
AFP member since August 2011

Why did you join AFP Nova Scotia? What has your experience been like so far?

I received tremendous benefit from AFP lunch and learn and PD sessions when I began my career in Annual Giving at Dalhousie University. As a young professional, I wanted to absorb as much as a could about the sector and those sessions were paramount to helping me get started. So, in the early days, I engaged because I wanted to learn from and benchmark against the best in the business!

Many years later, I was recruited to the AFP Nova Scotia board by Brad Jacobs. I joined the board because I wanted to not only gain board experience, but I felt compelled to give back to the association that had given me so much opportunity to learn. I wanted to help other young professionals get the same experience I did.

Tell us about your current role at Global Philanthropic. What is your favorite part of the job?

As a senior consultant, I get the opportunity to transform Atlantic Canadian organizations, of all different shapes and sizes, to scale their fundraising abilities to new heights through strategic counsel and campaign implementation.

My favourite part about the job is working with and learning from my colleagues across the country. The collaborative nature of our work means there is a network of expertise at my fingertips. I am someone who passionately believes in lifelong learning and having 28 other senior consultants to connect with empowers me to help my clients as well as continue to learn from the best. 

What inspired you to pursue a career in fundraising?