slyon

Member Spotlight

Sarah LyonSarah Lyon
Director, Philanthropy
Alzheimer Society of Nova Scotia
AFP member since 2014

How long have you worked in your current position?

10 years as Director, 13 years with the Alzheimer Society of Nova Scotia this August!

How did you start your career in philanthropy?

Technically, as a member of Girl Guides of Canada we sell cookies, which is a fundraiser. And you learn from that how to speak to people about where the money goes, how to budget, the impact the money raised has on women and girls across our province, Canada, and the world. From there, I was the first Chair of Philanthropy for my sorority when I was in University, learning how to plan events, work with vendors, etc. When I finished my Advanced Diploma in Public Relations and was on the job hunt, it was a sorority sister who was on contract at the Alzheimer Society of Nova Scotia in fundraising who recommended me for a permanent job as the Coordinator of Events and Campaigns. I was hired on the spot and haven’t looked back!

What would you tell fundraisers who are just getting started or looking to grow?