National Philanthropy Day

Registration is Now Open!

Reserve your spot for the 2023 National Philanthropy Day (NPD) Luncheon! Individual tickets and Community Table registrations are now open. Join us in celebrating and recognizing the individuals, organizations, and businesses who have impacted the community with their philanthropic endeavors.

National Philanthropy Day Luncheon
November 2, 2023
The Foundry on the Fair Site

Register here

Celebrate someone who has gone above and beyond for your organization by recognizing them as a table honoree! Host a Community Table for $350 and honor a board member, donor, staff, or volunteer to acknowledge their hard work and accomplishments. AFP membership is not required for registration and table honorees.
This year’s NPD Legacy Award, the highest honor bestowed by the Great Smoky Mountain Chapter of AFP, will be awarded to Linda C. Vaughn and her late husband Emmet P. (Buck) Vaughn for their significant impact on organizations in the East Tennessee Region. 

2023 Regional Award Winners
Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser – Cathy Ackermann, Ackermann Marketing & PR
Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy – William Cabaniss, Vanilla Feeds Tomorrow
Outstanding Foundation – Blackberry Farm Foundation
Corporate Philanthropist of the Year – United Cleanup Oak Ridge
Outstanding Philanthropist – A. David Martin
Nonprofit Professional Fundraiser of the Year – Elaine Streno, Second Harvest Food Bank of East Tennessee

Register here.

Thank you to the generous sponsors who help make National Philanthropy Day possible!


Award Categories

Recognizing Extraordinary Contributions

National Philanthropy Day, presented by the Great Smoky Mountain Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals, is an esteemed celebration of philanthropy, honoring those whose generosity and compassion have transformed lives and communities. The awards serve as a platform to acknowledge the selfless efforts of individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions in various philanthropic categories and promote the fundraising profession. Save the date for November 2, 2023.

Outstanding Philanthropists

This award is presented to an individual or family with a proven record of exceptional generosity who, through direct financial support and/or leadership and/or the establishment of a non-profit organization, has demonstrated civic and charitable responsibility and inspired others to become partners on a community, national and/or international level. Their generosity of spirit has made a lasting impact in the world of philanthropy.

Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser

This award is presented to an individual demonstrating exceptional leadership skills in recruiting, coordinating and motivating volunteers for major fundraising projects of more than one nonprofit organization. By generously giving of their time and talents, this person makes a measurable impact on the community and the advancement of philanthropy.

Corporate or Civic Philanthropists

This award is presented to a local corporation or civic organization which has shown outstanding community spirit and commitment to the goals of building a better community for all citizens through contributions to charitable causes and endeavors, taking an active role in community improvement activities, and by encouraging volunteerism and community involvement among its members.

Fundraising Professional of the Year

This award recognizes an active 10+ year fundraising professional who is a current member of AFP, exemplifies ethical and effective practice, and whose performance has enhanced the financial resources and recognition of the organization(s) for which they work. Demonstrating a strong commitment to philanthropy, volunteerism and mentorship, this professional aspires to promote and empower our vocation.

Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy

This award is presented to an individual or group of young people, age 23 or younger, whose voluntary fundraising efforts have demonstrated the spirit of philanthropy and have set an example for others to follow. Through their inspiration and leadership, they have made a significant impact on the giving horizon of the Smoky Mountain area.

Outstanding Foundation

This award is presented to a local foundation which has shown a financial commitment to philanthropic causes in our community; has encouraged and motivated others to take leadership roles in philanthropy and community involvement; has a history of helping charitable organizations achieve fundraising goals; and supports a number of local, national, and/or international non-profit organizations.

National Philanthropy Nomination Guidelines and Information



  • Only AFP members are eligible to nominate.

  • Deadline for submission is Wednesday, July 12, 2023, 5 PM EST.

  • Base your nominations on the characteristics and qualities of the listed awards.

  • There is no limit on the number of nominations you may submit.

  • Incomplete forms will not be considered.


  • Nominations are sent to other AFP members out of the region to score; scoring is based on the stated criteria.

  • Scoring is based solely on the strength of the written nomination, not on local name recognition, so please be sure your nomination is well-written and thorough.


  • The awardees must verify they will be present at the National Philanthropy Day event in order to receive the award.

  • All awardees (including groups and organizations) will receive two complimentary luncheon tickets and be seated at the head table.

Please direct questions to:
Angie Hatcher Sledge