Marjorie S. Fisher Fellows Mentorship Program

The AFP Greater Detroit Chapter’s Marjorie S. Fisher Fellows Mentorship Program is a unique opportunity to grow your expertise in the development field and network with experienced professionals. Fellows and mentees attend monthly discussions on a variety of topics, from events management, to major gift fundraising, to grant writing and more! Get inspired by passionate experts, and connect with those who share in this important work with you in Metro Detroit.

Fisher Fellows Mentors will receive the following benefits over a one-year period:
  • Membership in the Association of Fundraising Professionals Greater Detroit Chapter
  • Financial assistance to attend up to six chapter-sponsored educational programs

A limited number of Fisher Fellows Mentorships are available. For consideration, applicants must be:
  • Currently employed in a fundraising capacity at a local non-profit organization located in Metro Detroit
  • Small organizations with limited development support will be given special consideration
  • Financial hardship will also be given special consideration
The Marjorie S. Fisher Fellows Mentorship kick-off will be held April 13 at 12:00 pm.

The deadline to apply for 2022 has passed.  Please check back in early 2023.

Please contact Becky Harris at or Lauren Christilaw at with any questions.

Here's what past participants say about the program:

"The opportunity to glean tips and tactics from a seasoned fundraiser was priceless."

"I was matched extremely well with my mentor and I think this was the most beneficial part of the program."

"I want to help make the next generation of fundraisers better."

"I am always grateful to be engaged with fundraising professionals at different points in their careers. It energizes me, and helps me to be a better leader and fund raiser."

Congratulations, 2022 Marjorie S. Fisher Fellows!
Iris Brauer, Downtown Detroit Partnership
Jamie Brda, CARE of Southeastern Michigan
Kasey Calvert, Hidden Gems Institute of Instrumental Music and Fine Arts
Alison Chance, Michigan Parkinson Foundation
Lauren Christilaw, The Arc of Macomb County
Shannon Clark, Ann Arbor Center for Independent Living
Kathleen Collonello, Alzheimer's Association
Katie Couture, Alternatives For Girls
Alma Cruz, Delta Tau Lambda Sorority, Inc.
Nicole Denson, Michigan Voices
Damaris Doss, Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Amanda Frederick, Eversight
Lauren Fuller, Oakland County Sheriff PAL
Tekeyah Gaines, Community Connection Grant Program
Maya Geryk, Hands Across The Water, Inc.
Caroline Heise, Wayne State University
Alannah Henry, Detroit Institute of Arts
Katie Henwood, Oakland Family Services
Emily Hering, Arts & Scraps
Jean Khut
Elizabeth Kjar, Honor Community Health
Alvin Lockett, Jr., RTTM Community Center
Emily Madden, Volunteers of America Michigan
Nicholas Mancuso, Downtown Boxing Gym
Brian Meagher, Orion's Quest
Hailey Merritt, Angels' Place
Catherine O'Dell, The Greening of Detroit
Jamie Panzer, University of Michigan Hillel
Rhonda Parker, SafeHouse Center
Michael Plaskey, Team Suzy, Inc.
Carly Priehs, Detroit Justice Center
Amanda Rhea, Wayne State University - Division of Development and Alumni Affairs
Jainelle Robinson, ArtOps
Pamela Ronson, Eastern Market Partnership
Rebecca Soubel Gillespie, Starfish Family Services
Gina Spehn, New Day Foundation for Families
Reda Taleb, Arab American Women's Business Council
Thanh Tran, Accelerate4KIDS
Brittany Weinstein, Wayne State University

Thank You, 2022 Marjorie S. Fisher Fellows Mentors!
Lejla Bajgoric, Detroit Justice Center
Mary Barden, Wayne State University College of Education and Irvin D. Reid Honors College
Kristin Benton, Oakland Family Services
Marc Berke, The Autism Alliance of Michigan
Sommer Brock, Pontiac Community Foundation/No Nonsense Fundraising LLC
Tricia Brosnahan, Catholic Charities of Southeast Michigan
Paula Brown, Gary Burnstein Community Health Clinic
Kerry Burke
MiVida Burrus, HAVEN Oakland County
Ashley Calhoun, Self-Employed
Leslie Carmona, Wayne State University
Tina Casoli, Washtenaw Community College
Bobie Clement, Marts & Lundy
Jennifer Dale, Angela Hospice
Trish DeWald, EarlyWorks LLC
Ryan Dinkgrave, Eastern Market Partnership
Shenise Foote, Cranbrook Horizons-Upward Bound
Erika George, Empowerment Plan
Lisa Grace, Build Institute
Diane Gulyas, University of Michigan - Dearborn
Jennifer Harbeck, The Children's Center of Wayne County
Dennis Howie, Rose Hill Center
Kimberly Kleinhans, American Indian Health & Family Services
Julie Lichtenberg, JL Philanthropic Consulting
Dawn Magretta, Schoolcraft College Foundation
Stephanie Maurice, Psi Chi
Paul Miller, Presbyterian Villages of Michigan Foundation
Vanessa Miller, Wayne State University
Alicia Pani, Michigan Theater Foundation
Steve Ragan, College Possible
Justin Remington, The Remington Group
Mary Riegle, Downtown Detroit Partnership Inc.
Heather Rindels, Michigan State University
Nina Sapp, Detroit Institute Of Arts
Regina Sharma, Detroit Justice Center
Katja Thomakos, Cranbrook Institute of Science
Avni Thomas, Presbyterian Villages of Michigan Foundation
Blythe Tyler, Care House
Tracy Utech, Wayne State University
Jamie Westrick, Michigan Humane
Steve Zoski, Wayne State University

Congratulations, 2021 Mentorship AFP Mentees!
Zainab Al Dabbagh, Detroit Public Television
Rick Hartsell, Somerset Painting
Kimberly Kleinhans, Detroit Institute of Arts
Kisha Martin, Image Clear Ultrasound Detroit
Tabatha Maxwell, Presbyterian Villages of Michigan Foundation
Hank Wolfe Rodriguez, Forgotten Harvest
Jeremiah Steen, National Audubon Society
Dr. Mary Welsh, Susie Q's Kids, Inc.
Katy Willoughby, Wayne State University

Congratulations, 2021 Marjorie S. Fisher Fellows!
Alicia Arkwright, North Oakland Headwaters Land Conservancy
Lejla Bajgoric, Detroit Justice Center
Hannah Colborn, Michigan Community Resources
Sean Davidson, Volunteers of America Michigan
Miah J. Davis, College for Creative Studies
Christine Donaldson, Michigan Humane
Rachel Fine, Tamarack Camps
Rebecca Harris, Eversight
Amanda Holiday, Congress of Communities
Alistair Kiyingi, Global Detroit
Katrina McCree, Neighborhood Service Organization
Velma Overman, Operation Refuge, Inc.
Rebecca Yaciuk, Michigan Ability Partners

Thank You, 2021 Mentorship AFP Mentors!
Marc Berke, Girl Scouts of Southeastern Michigan
Sommer Brock, Cranbrook Horizons-Upward Bound/No Nonsense Fundraising LLC
Paula Brown, Dr. Gary Burnstein Community Health Clinic
Leslie Carmona, Wayne State
Bobie Clement, Marts & Lundy
Ryan Dinkgrave, Eastern Market Partnership
Erika George, The Empowerment Plan
Emily A. Godbold, University of Michigan - Michigan Medicine
Tanya Griffith, Oakland University
Diane Gulyas, University of Michigan-Dearborn
Stephanie Maurice, Focus: HOPE
Steve Ragan, Hope Network
Paula M. Rodriguez-Durant, Michigan Humane
Regina Sharma, Detroit Justice Center
Thomas Sommer, Leadership Oakland
Katja Thomakos, Cranbrook Instiute of Science
Avni Thomas, Presbyterian Villages of Michigan Foundation
Melissa Weisse, Leader Dogs for the Blind