National Philanthropy Day

National Philanthropy Day
AFP South Dakota

AFP SD's National Philanthropy Day conference will be held as a virtual event on Thursday, Nov. 12.

SCHEDULE — THURSDAY, NOV. 12, 2020



9 a.m. until 10:30 a.m. CDT / 8 a.m. until 9:30 a.m. MDT
Featured speaker: Simone Joyaux, ACFRE, Adv Dir, FAFP, Joyaux Associates
  • Governance session for nonprofit board members, organization leaders, resource development committees/councils, AFP members, and other nonprofit professionals.
11 a.m. until 1:15 p.m. CDT / 10 a.m. until 12:15 p.m. MDT
AFP Global program (OPEN TO ALL REGISTRANTS)
  • 11 a.m. CDT / 10 a.m. MDT — Welcoming remarks by AFP President/CEO Mike Geiger, MBA, CPA
  • 11:15 a.m. CDT / 10:15 a.m. MDT — Keynote from well-known philanthropist
  • 11:45 a.m. CDT / 10:45 a.m. MDT — Local videos of philanthropy leaders highlighted
  • noon CDT / 11:00 a.m. MDT — Session or panel highlighting philanthropy success during coVID-19 (CFRE Points)
  • 12:45 p.m. CDT / 11:45 a.m. MDT — Local videos of philanthropy leaders highlighted
  • 1 p.m. CDT / noon MDT — Closing remarks by AFP Chair, Martha Schumacher, CFRE, ACFRE, MInstF

1:30 p.m. until 2:15 p.m. CDT / 12:30 p.m. until 1:15 p.m. MDT
  • Opening Remarks
  • Message from South Dakota Governor
  • National Philanthropy Day Awards
2:15 p.m. until 2:30 p.m. CDT / 1:15 p.m. until 1:30 p.m. MDT
Break

2:30 p.m. until 5 p.m. CDT / 1:30 p.m. until 4 p.m. MDT
Featured speaker: Simone Joyaux, ACFRE, Adv Dir, FAFP, Joyaux Associates
  • Fundraising session for philanthropy professionals, seasoned and new



ABOUT OUR FEATURED SPEAKER

Simone Joyaux

Simone P. Joyaux (pronounced SEE’-mun Zha-WHY’-oh) has been described by colleagues around the world as one of the nonprofit sector’s most thoughtful, inspirational and provocative leaders. She sees herself as a change agent, an agitator. Whether it’s asking essential cage-rattling questions . . . or proposing novel approaches . . . or advocating for change . . . that’s Simone.

Simone began her career in the nonprofit sector in 1975, serving as the executive director of an arts center and arts council in Lansing, Michigan. She served as chief development officer for Trinity Repertory Company (RI) from 1981 to 1988 and became a full-time consultant in January 1988.

As a volunteer, Simone has founded two organizations: the first iteration of a statewide arts advocacy organization in Rhode Island and, in 2000, the Women’s Fund of Rhode Island, a social justice organization.

She regularly serves on boards, often as chair. From 1999 through 2001, Simone served as chair of the board of CFRE International, the baseline credentialing program for fundraisers. During her tenure, the program achieved its independence and established itself internationally. Simone received her M.A. in English and her B.A. in English and French from Michigan State University.




Thank you sponsors

Silver - statewide sponsors

Bronze level - Statewide
Avera
Citi
Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation