National Philanthropy Day Logo
SAVE THE DATE for 2020!
Monday, November 23, 2020 

Thanks to everyone involved in our 2019 event!
National Philanthropy Day Ceremony and Luncheon
Hotel Madison, Harrisonburg, VA
Monday, November 25, 2019


First held in 1986, National Philanthropy Day (NPD) is a special time set aside to recognize the great contributions of philanthropy-and those people active in the philanthropic community-to the enrichment of our world. National Philanthropy Day is coordinated by the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP).

The Shenandoah Chapter has celebrated NPD since 1990. Through NPD, we are able to show appreciation for all that has been accomplished in the name of giving, as well as demonstrating that there is still more to do. It's our chance to remind the Valley, that the spirit of giving is alive and well.


The Shenandoah Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals has awarded Philanthropist of the Year awards annually since 1991. These awards honor outstanding philanthropists who demonstrate exceptional charitable acts and civic responsibility in our region. Their generosity encourages others to engage in philanthropic activities and to seek leadership roles in our communities. 

Nominations have closed! Please consider nominating someone you know in 2020 who has either made an impact on your organization or one in the community. Click the links below to download sample applications from 2019. 

Individual Philanthropist - This award recognizes an individual or family with a proven record of exceptional generosity while also encouraging others to take philanthropic leadership roles in their local community.

Corporate Philanthropist - This award recognizes a corporation or its foundation who has demonstrated outstanding commitment through financial support, and through encouragement and motivation of others to take leadership roles with philanthropy and local community involvement.

Spirit of Philanthropy - This award recognizes an individual or small group exemplifying the spirit of giving back through time and talent in our local community. The recipient may be a selfless volunteer who works tirelessly to fulfill the needs of the organization through time, expertise or leadership, or a business partner who gives their service(s) for the betterment of the local organization.

Youth in Philanthropy- This award recognizes service by a young person (up to age 22) or a group of young people who have demonstrated outstanding commitment to the local community through their leadership and commitment to philanthropy.

Sandra S. Neff Fundraising Executive  - This award recognizes an outstanding individual fundraising professional who practices his/her profession in an exemplary manner and is a member of the Shenandoah Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP).

To receive an invitation, or if you have any questions,
please contact NPD chair Kate Renalds.

Interested in sponsoring this amazing event? Please click here!

Thanks to our event title sponsor.



2018 award videos sponsored by Appeal Productions



Click link to view

Past National Philanthropy Day Honorees