Committees

Get involved with AFP Greater Detroit.  Contact one of our Volunteer Coordinators!
Seize the opportunity to join one of the 2022 AFP Greater Detroit Chapter Committees and you'll grow and improve our chapter, promote ethics and values, put on memorable programs, and help advancement professionals learn from industry leaders (and each other) while gaining experience in new areas of fundraising. Everyone in AFP leads busy lives but committee participation is reasonable, doable, and worth it beyond measure.  Please contact Katy Willoughby at kwilloughby@wayne.edu, or Alex Fruin at afruin@ccsfundraising.com for more information.


I.D.E.A. (Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, & Access)
The I.D.E.A. Committee oversees the development of programming which addresses the needs of diverse fundraisers in the profession.  Contact the Chairs! Terrel White at twhite@thecne.org, or Ashley Green at ashleygr@umich.edu.

Membership
The Membership Committee is responsible for membership recruitment and retention activities for the AFP Greater Detroit Chapter.  Contact the Chairs! Michele Hines at mihines@umich.edu, or Jenny Harbeck at jharbeck@thechildrenscenter.com

National Philanthropy Day

The National Philanthropy Day Committee is responsible for the planning and coordination of the Chapter’s annual observance of the National Philanthropy Day, and determines the awardees for National Philanthropy Day. Contact the Chairs! Contact information coming soon.

Education and Programs
The Education & Programs Committee is responsible for developing programs which educate, inform, encourage and provide professional development for Chapter membership as well as non-member professionals. Contact the Chairs! Avni Thomas, CFRE, athomas@pvm.org, or Michael Palmer at michael.palmer1@ascension.org.

Finance
Contact the Chair! Ashley Calhoun at ashley@atlanticimpact.org.

Fisher Fellows & Mentorship
The Marjorie S. Fisher Fellows program strives to educate and empower the future generation of fundraisers in the region and is supported through the generosity of the Max M. and Marjorie S. Fisher Foundation. The Mentorship Committee is responsible for developing a comprehensive mentoring program. Mentoring is categorically a benefit of membership; therefore only members of the Greater Detroit Chapter may participate in the mentoring program. Contact the Chairs! Erin Lin at ellin@alz.org, or Becky Harris at bharris@eversightvision.org.

Governance
Oversees the governance of the chapter, including bylaws, board policies, nominations, recruitment, orientation, board development, board self-evaluation, and structure.  Contact the Chair! Sommer Brock, CFRE at sommer@pontiaccommunityfoundation.org.