2021 National Philanthropy Day



Monday, November 8, 2021

11:30 a.m.

National Philanthropy Day Virtual Celebration

Thank you for watching National Philanthropy Day 2021 today and joining together to celebrate philanthropy and the spirit of giving in Hampton Roads. To re-watch the National Philanthropy Day video, please click here.

Congratulations again to this year’s honorees, and thank you all for the work you do each and every day to make our community and our world a better place. 

2021 National Philanthropy Day Honorees:


Outstanding Philanthropists

Janice T. & Lawrence J.* Goldrich


Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser

Karen J. & Matthew D. Fine


Outstanding Nonprofit Leader

Dr. William R. Harvey, Hampton University


Outstanding Nonprofit in Fundraising

United Jewish Federation of Tidewater


Outstanding Innovation in Fundraising

Suffolk Christian Fellowship Center


Lifetime Achievement in Philanthropy Award

Judge Richard S. Bray


                                                                                                               *In Memoriam

Community Champions

Tony Brothers
Nominated by
Hampton Roads Community Foundation

Jordan Brown

Nominated by
Dr. Valerie Brown
Nominated by
Hampton Roads Community Foundation
Kim Forbes
Nominated by
Hampton Roads Community Foundation

Ian Holder

Nominated by
Hampton Roads Community Foundation

John Katsias

Nominated by
Virginia Museum of
Contemporary Art

Jackie King
Nominated by 
Virginia Stage Company
Kuria Spindler
Nominated by
Anchor Scholarship Foundation
Linda Whitehead
Nominated by 
Hampton Roads Community Foundation



The Association of Fundraising Professionals Hampton Roads Chapter (AFP-HR) signature event, National Philanthropy Day, is a celebration of philanthropy - giving, volunteering and charitable engagement - that highlights the accomplishments, large and small, that philanthropy - and all those involved in the philanthropic process - makes to our society and our world. Our National Philanthropy Day event in Hampton Roads has grown in attendance and sponsorship through the years. The celebration has become the signature event saluting philanthropy in Hampton Roads. 

Proceeds from National Philanthropy Day help our AFP chapter provide quality programming for our members, scholarships for professional development opportunities for local fundraisers and networking opportunities.  

Thank You to our 2021 Sponsors 

Presenting Sponsor


VIP Reception Sponsor

Benefactor Sponsors

Award Sponsor

Event Sponsors

Contributing Sponsors


If you have questions, please contact Amy Weinstein, National Philanthropy Day Chair,

 at aweinstein@bethsholomvillage.com. To purchase a sponsorship, please contact April Le, Sponsorship Chair.