AFP Pay it Forward CommitteeThe Yosemite Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals encompasses the mid-Central Valley of California, with members from Merced, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, and Tuolumne Counties.

If you are:

  • a development professional
  • have fundraising as part of your job responsibilities
  • a volunteer involved in the philanthropic process
  • interested in fundraising at any level
  • interested in a fundraising career
  • just want to know more about AFP

We welcome you!

We promote:

  • professional development
  • networking
  • and volunteer opportunities

We reflect a cross-section of the nonprofit community from organizations of all sizes. We also welcome consultants and resource partners who serve our industry. We welcome professionals at all career levels.

Our monthly continuing education lunches are approved for CFRE CEU credit! Download your tracker HERE.

CFRE Approved
Help make AFP Yosemite work for you! Contact us at afpyosemite@gmail.com to learn more and get involved!

Our Discussions

There are no discussions to which you have access.

Either the content you're seeking doesn't exist or it requires you to log in before viewing.

AFP Global's Latest Discussions

  • Hi everyone,  It has been very heartening to see the AFP family come together in this Open Forum to ...

    4 people recommend this.
  • I think it's just a matter of different strategies and fundraising priorities. If you pursue new grant ...


  • Protecting Nonprofits from Catastrophic Cash Flow Strain Act of 2020

    On Aug. 3, 2020, the President signed into law P.L. 116-151, the ‘Protecting Nonprofits from Catastrophic Cash Flow Strain Act of 2020,’ which expands emergency unemployment reimbursing payment relief for governmental entities and nonprofit organizations.


    Under the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (the CARES Act), the federal government will pay 50% of the unemployment costs incurred by nonprofit employers that elected to make reimbursing payments in lieu of paying unemployment taxes. All unemployment claims filed between March 13, 2020 and December 31, 2020 qualify for the federal reimbursement. However, nonprofit employers have still been required to pay 100% of their reimbursing payments upfront. The federal government then subsequently reimburses the employer’s state for its 50% share of the unemployment obligation, at which point the state refunds the 50% portion to the employer.

    Reimbursing employers typically receive monthly or quarterly statements of benefit charges from their state unemployment agency. These statements reference who was paid unemployment benefits and in what amount. The statements are typically issued within the month following the completion of each calendar month or quarter. At the same time, a statement of billing is issued mirroring the total amount of charges incurred for that particular month or quarter. A billing statement will ordinarily request payment within 30 days of the date of mailing. An employer’s failure to timely pay their bill would subject the employer to penalties and interest. The CARES Act provides flexibility to relax those penalties in the event that nonprofit employers are not able to pay timely due to economic hardship. 

    Employer payment relief

    Considering the economic pressures and cash flow concerns facing nonprofit organizations amid the COVID-19 pandemic, the Protecting Nonprofits from Catastrophic Cash Flow Strain Act of 2020 now allows nonprofit employers to pay only 50% of their reimbursing payment obligation up front, while the state awaits payment of the remaining 50% from the federal government.  

    Nonprofit employers should exercise diligence in the inspection of all benefit charge statements they receive. States are experiencing a high volume of fraud associated with unemployment applications, including claims filed by employees who either never filed for benefits or never worked for them. Employers should timely challenge any payments they deem improper by following the protest rights contained within those statements. Additionally, employers should be aware that a number of states are offering flexibility with respect to reimbursing payment due dates or have elected not to charge reimbursing employers for any COVID-19 related unemployment claims, which may provide additional relief to affected employers.   

  • A Statement from the AFP President and CEO:

    As fundraisers for nonprofit organizations, no matter our cause, we are part of the solution to making the world a better place - by listening, empathizing, inspiring, raising funds and taking action.

    AFP stands for and fights for the values of inclusion, justice, diversity, fairness, generosity and compassion. Fundraising unites people - there is no place for exclusion, racism and oppression.

    AFP members raise funds for thousands of different causes, but stamping out institutional racism must be a priority for all. Every donor we inspire, every dollar we raise, every colleague we support, every action we take - is another vital step on the journey to eliminating hatred and racism.

    Most importantly, regardless of our race, gender, socioeconomic circumstances, sexual preferences, geography or any other applied labels, we must ALL act, and we must all act TOGETHER.

    Mike Geiger, MBA, CPA
    President and CEO
    Association of Fundraising Professionals


Ad Box

Yosemite Chapter Ten Star Award Logo

AFP IDEA Champion Award Logo