Board of Directors

2023 Officers

Laura Rose, CFRE, Charles Wright Academy - President

Laura discovered her passion for nonprofit work in 2002 and has worked in fundraising ever since."I have learned so much personally and professionally from colleagues who have become friends. I am honored to serve AFPSS and be a member.  I am excited by our chapter's goals for the future, and hope many more will join us!"

Emily Happy, Principal at The Philanthropy Collective - Past President

Emily has served the Puget Sound nonprofit community for the past 20 years."AFP South Sound is my go-to for superior development education. Along with the growth and learning comes the camaraderie of many caring professionals-- we are truly a collaborative and supportive community.

Mary BrickleMary Brickle, CFRE, Washington State University - Treasurer

Mary is an ardent supporter of the Tacoma nonprofit community, working and volunteering with a variety of organizations since moving to the region eight years ago. The connections and mentors she has met through AFP South Sound have been career game-changers and wonderful friends. "I definitely recommend getting involved with the chapter, whether you're new to the field or region, or just want to get to know your fellow fundraisers better!"

Jennie GriekJennie Griek, CFRE, Pacific Lutheran University - Secretary

Jennie has had the honor and privilege to work for Greentrike in a fundraising capacity since 2008, and credits much of her learning to the resources and network of development professionals AFPSS shares. "I joined AFPSS as a new Development Director in 2015 because of the stellar professional development AFPSS provides. I am happy to volunteer and grateful to learn alongside a community of development professionals."

Jill Rose, IDEA Chair

“AFP South Sound provides great networking and training opportunities for both new and seasoned fundraising professionals, so we can enhance our work and impact. I’m inspired by those doing this work, and enjoy working alongside other committed, passionate people who are taking action to elevate philanthropy and strengthen our community."

2023 Directors

Mary Brickle
, Washington State University

Emily Mendez-Bryant, Tacoma Community College Foundation

Missy Zenczak Candler, Greentrike

Jennifer Li Dotson, FundRaise Up

Sabina Ibragimova, Marketing/Communications Co-Chair 

Sally Glover, South Sound CARE Foundation

Jennie Griek, CAP®,CFRE, Pacific Lutheran University, Membership Co-Chair

Lianna Olds, Nonprofit Association of WA

Jill Rose, CFRE — IDEA Chair, Amara

Laura Rose, CAP®,CFRE, Charles Wright Academy

Ruth Tollefson, CFRE, Amara 

Lee Warnecke, Southern Poverty Law Center - Programs Co-Chair

Teddy Wingo, Columbia Land Trust, Membership Co-Chair

Kari Young
, Lutheran Community Services Northwest

Chapter Administrator

Jennifer McLain
"I have served in various capacities in non-profit organizations and am excited to be a part of AFP South Sound.  I find great joy in supporting non-profit professionals as they create opportunity and equity in our community.  I hope to serve those involved with AFP South Sound as they strive to further educate and expand their knowledge of the fundraising profession."