National Philanthropy Day 2020

The Yosemite Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) is pleased to announce that the 10th National Philanthropy Day awards ceremony will be held VIRTUALLY on Wednesday, November 18, 2020! At this event, members of our community who have shown excellence in philanthropy will be honored in each of the categories below. Winners will also be awarded $100 to direct to the charity of their choice.

View this event on the AFP Yosemite YouTube Channel using this link.

AFP Yosemite Chapter President, Melissa Van Diepen, shares more about National Philanthropy Day and what it means to our community in this article in the Modesto Bee.

This years winners are:


Carl Boyett Outstanding Philanthropist Award:

Norm and Evan Porges, The Porges Family Foundation

Outstanding Youth Philanthropist Award:

         Jack Litke, Beyer High Graduate, Modesto Symphony Youth Orchestra

David Barnes Outstanding Fundraising Professional Award:

Amber Flores, CFRE, Executive Director annual & Special Giving External Relations at UC Merced

Outstanding Business Philanthropist Award:

         Grimbleby Coleman CPAs

Outstanding Community Organization Philanthropist Award:

         Boyett Petroleum Make Dreams Real Foundation

The recognition criteria is attached with links to the nomination forms for each award. Past award winners are listed below. 

In addition, we will be honoring Community Champions.  This is an opportunity to recognize volunteers or staff who have gone above and beyond to support the organization, in particular during the COVID-19 pandemic.  These individuals will be given special recognition during the event.


Thank you for joining us in honoring those advancing philanthropy in our community. If you have any questions, please contact me at, subject line: NPD 2020 Awards.


Melissa Van Diepen

President, Association of Fundraising Professionals, Yosemite Chapter

Past Award Winners

Outstanding Philanthropist

Bruno Family (2018); Bob & Marie Gallo (2016); Matt and Maria Swanson (2014); Jane Vilas (2012); Jeani and John Ferrari (2011); John Mayol (2009); Carl Boyett, Dr. Steve and Ann Endsley (2007); Marian Palmer (2005); Bill & Mary Lyons (2003); John & June Rogers (1999)

Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser (category combined with above)

Janice Lucero (2018); Joseph Swain (2016); Sheila Carroll (2014); Marie Assali (2012); Dr. Tom Van Groningen (2011); Robert “Bob” Saunders (2009); Kenni Friedman (2007); Dianne Gagos (2005); Carmen Skeen (2003); Millie Wise (2001); Bette Belle Smith (1999)    

Outstanding Youth Philanthropist

Erin Benning (2018); Emma Baily (2016); Katelyn Reza (2014); Victoria Watson (2012); Craig Jones (2011)

Outstanding Fundraising Professional

Kathy Hobby (2018); Tammy Menezes (2016); Monica Ojcius (2014); Shirley Pok (2012); Julie De Araujo (2011); Marci Boucher (2009); Larry Hostetler (2007); Carole Richard (2005); Mick Grimes (2003); Walter Strong (2001); Linda Avedon (1999)

Outstanding Corporate Donor

Modesto Toyota (2018); Emanuel Medical Center (2016); Wells Fargo (2014); Garrad and Dallas Marsh, McHenry Bowl (2012); Hilmar Cheese Company (2011); Huff Construction (2007); The Modesto Bee (2005); Foster Farms (2005); American Chevrolet (2003); Prime Shine Express (2001); E & J Gallo Winery (1999)

Outstanding Small Business Donor (category now combined with the above)

MOCSE Credit Union (2009); Varni Brothers (2007); Ambeck Mortgage (2005)

Outstanding Community Organization Philanthropist

Cardoza Foundation (2014); Bright Family Foundation (2011); Stanislaus Education Foundation (2009); St. Luke’s Medical Practice (2007); Mary Stuart Rogers Foundation (2005)

Outstanding Service Organization (category combined with above)

Modesto Sunrise Rotary (2018); North Modesto Kiwanis Club (2016); Modesto Rotary Club Foundation (2005); Friends of Hospice (2003); Omega Nu (2001)

Lifetime Achievement Award (not awarded this year)

David Barnes (2019), Jacqueline Foret (2018); Carl Boyett (2016); Jane Johnston (2014); Lucille Hammer (2011); Ron Emerzian (2009); David Barnes (2003); Patty Stone (2001)

National Philanthropy Day Award Criteria 

Carl Boyett Outstanding Philanthropist Award

Presented to an individual or family with a proven record of personal generosity that, through direct financial support or volunteer efforts, has demonstrated civic and charitable responsibility in our community. Selection criteria will include: history of giving and/or fundraising; impact of gift and/or fundraising support; new programs or projects launched or goals achieved; support to other charitable organizations; success in recruiting or motivating others; and significance of projects for the community.

Outstanding Youth Philanthropist Award

Presented to a youth 18 years or younger who has participated in philanthropic efforts on behalf of their community. Selection criteria will include: significance of projects to the community; time and effort; success in recruiting and motivating others; and involvement with other nonprofit organizations beyond the nominator’s.

David Barnes Outstanding Fundraising Professional Award

Presented to an outstanding fundraiser who has practiced the profession in an exemplary manner in accordance with the AFP code of ethics, for at least five (5) years. Selection criteria will include: breadth of the individual’s fundraising career; commitment to the profession; major fundraising achievements and their impact; fundraising or philanthropic involvement outside of paid position.

Outstanding Business Philanthropist Award

Presented to a small business or corporation that demonstrates outstanding commitment through financial support and community involvement. Selection criteria will include: evidence of direct financial support for community projects, programs or capital improvements; impact of gift support; evidence of encouragement and motivation to employees. 

Outstanding Community Organization Philanthropist Award

Presented to a foundation, service organization or a philanthropic organization that awards grants to organizations that provide services and programs in the community. Selection criteria include: the impact of gift support and achievements accomplished through the foundation’s efforts; number of projects funded; encouragement and motivation given to others to take leadership roles toward philanthropy; volunteer fundraising efforts (for service organizations).

Community Champion

Honor a volunteer or staff member who has done incredible work. This is an opportunity to recognize someone who has gone above and beyond to support the organization, in particular during the COVID-19 pandemic.

View this event on the AFP Yosemite YouTube Channel using this link.

Nov 18, 2020 from 12:00 PM to 1:30 PM (PT)

Associated with  AFP CA, Yosemite Chapter